MESSAGE

Department of Curriculum & Instruction

The purpose of the School of Education is to provide professional training and study that will prepare the education student to pursue a career in the field of education.  This training is characterized by course content, field assignments, practica, and clinical experiences. 

Our Mission

To develop caring, reflective decision makers.

Our Duties

The Department of Curriculum and Instruction is responsible for the development of undergraduate and graduate curricula in:

  1. Elementary Education K-6

    1. B.S. Elementary Education

      1. Endorsements in

        1. Mild and Moderate Disabilities K-12
        2. Reading Education K-12
        3. Mathematics Education 7-12
        4. Social Studies Education 7-12
        5. Science Education 7-12
        6. English Education 7-12
    2. Master of Education M.Ed.

      1. M.Ed. Elementary Education
      2. M.Ed. in the Art of Teaching Elementary Education
    3. Educational Specialist

      1. Ed.S. Elementary Education
  2. Secondary Education 7-12

    1. B.S. Social Studies Education
    2. B.A. English Education
    3. B.S. Mathematics Education
    4. B.S. Biology Education
    5. B.S. Biology/Chemistry Education
    6. M.Ed. Secondary Education
    7. M.Ed. in the Art of Teaching Secondary Education
    8. M.Ed. Social Studies Education
    9. M.Ed. English Education
    10. M.Ed. Biology Education
    11. Ed.S. Secondary Education
  3. Special Subjects K-12

    1. B.F.A. Art Education
    2. M.Ed. Art Education
    3. M.Ed. Gifted Education
    4. M.Ed. Dyslexia Therapy (pending approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges)
    5. M.Ed. Mild and Moderate Disabilities
Contact Information

Hattiesburg Campus

Chair
Dr. Tammie Brown
tbrown@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6603

Faculty
Phyllis Armstrong
parmstrong@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6142

Faculty
Dr. Bitsy Brown-Miller
bmiller@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6217

Faculty
Dr. Allison Downing
adowning@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6604

Faculty
Dr. June Hornsby
jhornsby@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6140

Faculty
Dr. Jeannie Lockley
jlockley@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6611

Faculty
Dr. Barry Morris
bmorris@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6587

Faculty
Dr. Patricia Ward
pward@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6191

Faculty
Dr. Susan Whitcomb
swhitcomb@wmcarey.edu
(601) 318-6557

Tradition Campus

Director
Dr. James Harrison
jharrison@wmcarey.edu
(228) 702-1841

Faculty
Dr. Melany Hanson
mhanson@wmcarey.edu
(228) 702-1886

Faculty
Dr. Debra Herring
dherring@wmcarey.edu
(228) 702-1863

Faculty
Dr. Philip Pennington
ppennington@wmcarey.edu
(228) 702-1879

Faculty
Dr. Norris Williams
nwilliams@wmcarey.edu
(228) 702-1860