Carey hosts annual Honors Day Convocation

William Carey University held its annual Honors Day Convocation on April 26, 2017, at Venture Baptist Church in Hattiesburg.
During the ceremony, the university presented USM President Dr. Rodney Bennett the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters. Bennett was recognized for his leadership at USM, involvement in the community, and his response to the tornado that hit Hattiesburg and the Carey campus on Jan. 21, 2017.
“Dr. Bennett and his wife, Temple, have made their home in Hattiesburg and are respected and loved by the people of this community,” said WCU President Dr. Tommy King.
On the morning of Jan. 21, Bennett was in Atlanta for a meeting, but returned to Hattiesburg before noon and immediately came to Carey to inspect the damage and offer assistance. Following the tornado, USM offered residential facilities for Carey students, classroom and laboratory space.
“Dr. Bennett and his wife, Temple, have become an integral part of the Hattiesburg community, providing leadership for community organizations and initiatives, including unsurpassed support for William Carey University in recovery from the January 2017 tornado which devastated the Hattiesburg campus,” states the resolution approved by the WCU board of trustees. 
Bennett thanked King, the board of trustees, and the Carey faculty, staff and students. In closing he told the students, “I encourage you to always pay it forward in whatever way you can.”
Endowed Chairs
Dr. Tommy King bestowed the following endowed chairs on faculty members:
J.D. Sims Chair in Business, Dr. Bob Ellis
Rebecca Tatum Chair in Christian Education, Dr. Daniel Caldwell
Martha Elizabeth Whichard Chair in Nursing at the Tradition Campus, Dr. Angela Jupiter-McCon
Jenkins-Chastain Citizenship Award
The Jenkins-Chastain Citizenship Award was presented to Allison McSwain and Kyle Conn. The Jenkins-Chastain Award was established in 1957 and is the university’s highest honor. Students nominated for this award exemplify outstanding citizenship, scholarship, leadership, and Christian service. 
McSwain is a senior majoring in English with a minor in psychology. She has been on the President’s List for the past four years and is a Carey Scholar. She is a member of Sigma Tau Delta and Gamma Chi Christian sorority. McSwain has worked with the Salvation Army and the Forrest General Cancer Center in conjunction with Gamma Chi Sorority. She serves in the student and children’s ministry at her church. She traveled to the Dominican Republic with Global Effect to distribute water filters and share the gospel. 
Conn is double majoring in church music and vocal performance. He recently participated in the National Association of Teachers of Singing state competition, receiving fourth place in the senior men’s category. Conn has been a member of the Carey Chorale for four years and played the roles of King Kaspar in the opera “Amahl and the Night Visitors,” Frank Butler in “Annie Get Your Gun,” and Jink in “Forever Plaid.” He currently serves as interim music minister at Hurricane Creek Baptist Church.
Other awards presented during the ceremony include:
Baptist Student Union: Austin Eitel, BSU president for 2016-2017; Carter Rackley, Outstanding BSU LeadTEAM member; Cassidy Monk, Outstanding Servant Leader.
Student Leadership Award – Angelo Morales
Student Foundation Scholarship – Wade Bush
SGA President 2016-2017 – Gabe May
Mr. William Carey University – Prashant Karki
Miss William Carey University – Ashley Herring 
Faculty Member of the Year Award – Dr. Thomas Rauch
Staff Member of the Year Award – Allen Bonner
Administrator of the Year Award – Dr. Tommy King
Cafeteria Worker of the Year Award – Ernestine Bass
Security Worker of the Year Award – James Halford
Miss WCU Scholarship Pageant Winner – Anna McDaniel
The Great Crusade – Team Red
Smith-Holliman Outstanding Freshman Writer Award – Bradley Baughman
Rebecca M. Jordan Outstanding English Major Award – Allison McSwain and Meghan Gagliano
J.V. McCrory Creative Writing Award – Jared Best (poetry), Maia Yoon (short fiction)
Outstanding Spanish Student – Nicolas Eymard
Art Student of the Year – Donnia Adams
Kappa Mu Epsilon Mathematics Award – Joshua Deaton, Prashant Karki, Emily Harvell
Freshman Chemistry Award – Logan Sears
Senior Chemistry Award – Prashant Karki
Rose West Memorial Endowment – Lillie Blackmon
Rose G. West Pre-Medical Award – Adrienne Madden
Freshman Biology Award – Ashleyn Simmons
Senior Biology Award – Mary Hannah Lott
Outstanding Psychology Student Award – Ashley Herring, Katie Thompson
Most Outstanding Master of Biomedical Science Award – Rachel Saint-Fort
Nurse Crusader Award – Brinley Landrum (Class of May 2017), Ashtyne Singletary (Class of August 2017)
Nightingale Scholar Award – Joshua A. Jones (Class of May 2017), Kayla Byrd (Class of August 2017)
Outstanding Elementary Education Major – Erica Eddings
Outstanding Secondary Education Major – Richards Edwards
Outstanding Physical Education and Health Major – Rachel Hickman
Outstanding Management/Marketing Student – Simon Ekman
Outstanding Finance Student – Katie Sims
Outstanding Accounting Student – Emily Harvell
Outstanding Cross Cultural Business Management Student – Matthew Haymes
Outstanding Music Major – Lauren Clear and Adam Moffett
Mary Ann Johnston Griffith Undergraduate Elementary Music Award – Lyujohn Williams
Anne Folsom Middle School Undergraduate Music Education Award – Rebecca Robinson
Phyllis J. Merritt Undergraduate Music Education Award – Rebecca Robinson
Outstanding Student Teacher – Rachel Rayburn (instrumental), Kelsey Nobach (choral)
Senior Pin for Delta Omicron International Music Fraternity – Lauren Clear
Music Therapy Commitment and Dedication Award – Danielle Rogers
Joe Roberts Memorial Forensics Society Award – Treya Brown
Distinguished Speaker Award – Sarah Bonnewell, Kyle Powell
J.E. Byrd Memorial Award – Taylor Lindemann
The Rhodes Award – Meghan Gagliano
HEADWAE Awards – Dr. Noel Mann, Adrienne Madden
Alumni Association School Spirit Award – Adria Piazza
Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges – Hattiesburg Campus: Donnia Adams, Julia Appelberg, Larson Barkurn, Jacob Beard, Mitchell Blair, Sarah Bonnewell,  Joshua Britt,  Laken Britt, Treya Brown, Johonna Bush, Kayla Byrd, William Donald Collins, Joshua Deaton, Abigail Earnhart, Simon Ekman, Rebecca Farmer, Meghan Gagliano, Shelby Gilliland, Sara Grace Golson, Emily Harvell, Maren Hasselbusch, Kimberly Honan, Johanna Hubinette, Elisabeth Camille Ishee, Houston Jones, Prashant Karki, Lindsay Knight, Cara Larsen, Branden Lindsay, Mary Hannah Lott, Adrienne Madden, Gabriel May, Allison McSwain, Hannah Moak, Adam Moffett, Angelo Morales, Larry Palmer, Madison Peyton, McKenzie Rigney, Clayton Rush, Rachel Simmons, Kathryn Sims, Garcia Sircar, Rebecca Smith, Kathryn Thompson, Chamapuwa Tinago, Faith Westberry, Kirestian White, Sara Williams, Barry Williamson; Tradition Campus: Jacob Anderson, Jessica Bennett, Courtney Hyter, Samuel Piche, Neuman McCon, Brittany Saucier, Brandon Warden.
The Jenkins-Chastain Citizenship Award recipients Allison McSwain and Kyle Conn are pictured with Provost Scott Hummel.