Madden, Mann recognized as 2017 HEADWAE honorees

William Carey University’s 2017 HEADWAE honorees Adrienne Madden and Dr. Noel Mann were recognized at the Honors Convocation held April 26.
HEADWAE (Higher Education Appreciation Day, Working for Academic Excellence) was established by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state’s public and private institutions of higher learning. The annual Appreciation Day, hosted by the legislature each February in Jackson, is the legislature’s way of saying “thank you” to these students and faculty for their commitment to the future of Mississippi.
Madden graduated in May with a 4.0 GPA. She was a pre-med student with majors in biology and chemistry and was the recipient of the Rose G. West Pre-Medical Award. She is the daughter of Jerry Madden and Marissa Madden of Purvis and a graduate of Purvis High School. While at Carey Madden was a member of the Carey Scholars Honors College and Alpha Chi National Honor Society. She served as communications officer of Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society and editor-in-chief of The Cobbler student newspaper. Madden received a third-place award for "Best Sports Feature" in the student division of the 2014-2015 Mississippi Press Association's Better Newspaper Contest.
Mann is a chemistry and physical sciences professor. Prior to joining the Carey faculty in 2014, he was a chemistry, physics, and polymer science teacher at Presbyterian Christian High School. He served as deputy director of the Mississippi Math and Science Improvement Program from 2007-2009, was a visiting professor for research in the polymer science department at The University of Southern Mississippi from 2005-2007, and served as chair of the science department at Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College from 1974 to 2005. He retired as a lieutenant colonel after serving in the United States Army, Mississippi Army National Guard, U.S. Army Reserve from 1971 to 1996. Mann earned a Bachelor of Science in chemistry and physics, a Master of Science in Education from Delta State University, and a PhD from USM.
“Being selected by Adrienne Madden as the faculty HEADWAE recipient and representative for William Carey University is the crowning jewel of my career,” Mann said.
On Appreciation Day, the honorees are invited to the State Capitol where they are welcomed by the lieutenant governor and recognized in each chamber of the legislature. A luncheon follows wherein each student and faculty honoree is recognized by name in front of their guests, institution leaders, corporate sponsors, and legislators.
The goal of the Appreciation Day is to encourage excellence among those involved in higher education as a way to further leadership, increase knowledge across the broad spectrum of education, promote good citizens capable of thriving in today's society, who are prepared to meet future challenges. To this end, one student and faculty honoree are annually selected from each of the 34 public and private member institutions of the Mississippi Association of Colleges to participate in the Appreciation Day activities. 
Vice President for Academic Affairs Gary Breland (left) recognized William Carey University’s 2017 HEADWAE honorees Adrienne Madden and Dr. Noel Mann at Honors Day Convocation on April 26.