Sigma Tau Delta inducts 11 new members

William Carey University inducted 11 students into the Alpha Gamma Gamma chapter of Sigma Tau Delta English honor society during a ceremony on April 12 in the Student Conference Center. The inductees are Raechel Abney of Diamondhead, Ticochie Groves of Magee, Sara Jolley of Hattiesburg, Abby Magee of Columbia, Cody Patrick of Laurel, Joshua Caleb Pitts of Ellisville, Ian Pittman of Columbia, McKenzie Rigney of Picayune, Olivia Russell of McComb, Liberty Sites of Crestview, Florida, and Kayla Wagner of Leakesville.
Admission to the chapter is open to undergraduate and graduate students with an overall “B” average in English courses and ranking in the highest 35 percent of the student’s class in general scholarship. The honor society was founded in 1924 as “an order designed to promote the mastery of written expression, encourage worthwhile reading and foster a spirt of fellowship among those specializing in the English language and literature.”
Participating in the recent Sigma Tau Delta induction ceremony at William Carey University are: (front, from left) inductees Sara Jolley, McKenzie Rigney, Kayla Wagner, Abby Magee, Sigma Tau Delta President Deborah Nevill, inductee Liberty Sites; (back row, from left) faculty advisors Dolores O’Mary and Dr. Marsha Newman, inductees Cody Patrick, Joshua Caleb Pitts, Ian Pittman, English instructor Edison Williams, Language and Literature Department Chairman Dr. Tom Richardson.