MESSAGE

Speakers Bureau

2014-2015

Faculty and Staff of the university are available to speak at civic clubs, associational meetings, area churches, and at other events. Please review the available topics below. If you find a topic that suits your needs, please contact the individual to arrange for your event. If you need assistance, please contact Barbara Hamilton at 601-318-6524.

Dr. Frank Baugh

Dean of the School of Natural and Behavioral Sciences; Graduate Dean;
Associate Dean of Academics for the College of Osteopathic Medicine;
Assistant Professor of Psychology
fbaugh@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6586

  • William Carey University Graduate Programs
  • William Carey University Science Programs
  • Sport and Performance Psychology
  • Organizational and Leadership Development
  • Health and Psychology for the Layperson
Nigel Boulton

Men’s Soccer Coach
nboulton@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6401

  • Soccer
  • Student Athletes
Jerry Bracey

Administrative Dean, Tradition Campus
jbracey@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1802

  • William Carey University – Tradition Campus
  • Programs on the Tradition Campus
Dr. Patrick Brady

Associate Professor of Nursing
Faculty Counselor, Upsilon Theta Chapter/STTI
pbrady@wmcarey.edu
504-286-3287

  • Healthy People 2020
  • Biofield Therapy in Cancer Care
  • Cultural Competence and Cultural Diversity in the Workplace and Healthcare Environment (can be a four-hour workshop, if desired)
  • Evidence-Based Foundations in Nursing Interventions
  • Transitioning into Professional Practice
Dr. Garry Breland

Vice President for Academic Affairs
gbreland@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6101

  • William Carey University
  • Christian Higher Education
Dr. Billy Brown

Professor of Business, Tradition Campus
bbrown@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1854

  • All Aspects of Contemporary Business
  • Resolution of Conflict – Mediation
  • All Aspects of Communication
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Marketing, Management and Human Resource Management
Charles (Greg) Bullock

Instructor of Physical Education
cbullock@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6558

  • William Carey University
  • Physical Education
  • Health
  • Life Style
  • Sound Nutrition
Dr. Allison Chestnut

Associate Professor of Language and Literature
achestnut@wmcarey.edu;  allisondcnt@aol.com
601-318-6135

  • Humor
  • Parable and Southern Literature
  • Religion and Literature
  • Poetry and Essay Reading
Dr. Paul Cotten

Professor of Psychology and Music
pcotten@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6416

  • Music Therapy
  • Services for Persons with Special Needs
  • Gerontology
Dr. Bennie Crockett

Professor of Philosophy and Religion;
Co-Director, Center for the Study of the Life and Work of William Carey
bcrockett@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6116

  • William Carey University
  • Who was William Carey?
  • Biblical Texts and Manuscripts
  • History of the English Bible
  • The Fusion of Religion and Ethics
  • History of Philosophical Ideas in Western Texts
Dr. Cheryl Dale

Dean, School of Business
cdale@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6204

  • The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Program for Improving Quality and Productivity
  • MBA Program
Dr. Marilyn Ellzey

Assistant Professor of Mass Communication
mellzey@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6220

  • Media Outlets
  • Convergence Issues in Teaching and Business
Dr. Tim Glaze

Director of Baptist Student Union
Assistant Professor of Religion
William Carey Endowed Chair of Missions
tglaze@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6386

  • Missions Emphasis: Margaret Lackey, Annie Armstrong, Lottie Moon
  • Leadership Development: Mentoring
  • Transitioning from Youth to College: Crossover
Dr. Brett Golson

Assistant Professor of Religion; Coordinator of Bivocational Programs
bgolson@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6431

  • William Carey University
  • Becoming a Missions Focused Church
  • The Family Mission Experience (Presentations on Cambodia, Indonesia, Peru)
  • Marriage and Family
  • Leadership
Bobby Halford

Assistant Professor of Physical Education; Baseball Coach
bhalford@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6110

  • Crusader Baseball
Wendy Hogue

Softball Coach
whogue@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6551

  • Fast Pitch Softball
  • Youth Evangelism
Dr. Lynne Houston

Assistant to the Vice President for Advancement and church Relations
Assistant Professor of Education
lhouston@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6231

  • Mission Emphasis in Honduras and Nicaragua
  • Mission Emphasis in South Africa
  • International Exchange Program in China
  • Master of Education Programs Including Educational Leadership

           

Dr. Scott Hummel

Vice President for Institutional Advancement and Church Relations
shummel@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6497

  • William Carey University
  • Biblical Studies
  • Preaching
  • Archeology
  • Israel
Dr. Karen Juneau

Associate Professor and Chair, Career and Technical Education, Tradition Campus
kjuneau@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1865

  • The Importance of Playing with Scissors
  • Heaven is a Pie Shop
  • The Surprising History of Housework
Dr. Tommy King

President, William Carey University
pres@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6495

  • General Status Report on William Carey University
  • Private Higher Education
  • After-dinner Speaker
Steve Knight

Director of Intercollegiate Athletics;
Head Coach of Men’s Basketball;
Assistant Professor of Physical Education
sknight@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6415

  • The Athletic Department
  • Men’s Basketball
Dr. Darrell Lovins

Professor of Medicine
dlovins@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6552

  • Osteopathic Medicine
  • College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Military Medicine (Retired Navy Captain)
  • Graduate Medical Education (ACGME and AOA)
  • Physician Supply in the United States
  • Disaster Medicine
  • Great Highland Bagpipes
Dr. Michael Madaris

Assistant Professor of Business Administration
mmadaris@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6202

  • We Are His Workmanship: Thinking Biblically About Business
  • This Light, Momentary Affliction: How I Learned to Be Thankful for My Cancer
  • They Say It’s Cancer…What Do I Do Now?
  • How to Flunk Out of College With Style and Grace (Some Advice for High School Students on Succeeding in College)
Cheryl Maqueda

Assistant Professor of Spanish
cmaqueda@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6440

  • Hispanics in Mississippi
  • Spanish for Mississippi
Dr. Kimberle Moon

Artist in Residence, Instructor of Voice and Vocal Arts
kmoon@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6182/ 850-445-4910

  • Vocal Health and Vocal Hygiene for the Professional Voice User
  • Voice Disorders – When Does Being Hoarse Mean There is a Problem?
  • Breast Cancer! – One Person’s View on Conquering the “C” Word
  • How to Understand Your Husband – Are You Part of the Problem?
  • How to Remain Positive in a Negative World – Death and Life is in the Power of the Tongue!
Dr. Barry Morris

Dean, School of Education; Associate Professor of Education
bmorris@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6587

  • The Celebration of the Gifts in Children
  • Smokey the Ferret’s Fire Prevention in Swamps
Dr. Myron Noonkester

Dean of the Noonkester School of Arts and Letters;
Professor of History and Chair, Department of History;
Co-Director of the Center for the Study and Life of William Carey
mnoonkester@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6164

  • William Carey University
  • Mississippi as Middle Ground
  • A Millennium of Sheriffs
  • Why the British Left Mississippi
  • Imagining Civil War Mississippi
Dr. Don Odom

Dean, Winters School of Music
dodom@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6175

  • Fine Arts Topics and Programs
  • Church Music with Emphasis Relating to Mississippi Baptists
Jim Pierce

Associate Professor of Music Therapy
jpierce@wmcarey.edu
601.318.6249

  • Music Therapy
  • Behavior Management through Creative Planning
  • Drum and Rhythm Facilitation
Lucy Sanguinetti

Records Specialist, Registrar’s Office
lsanguinetti@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6195

  • How to Have a Dynamic Marriage
  • Rising Above Health Related Adversity

(Topics Include Humor and Singing)

Jennifer Talbert

Assistant Professor of Communication;
Director of Forensics
jtalbert@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6775

  • Essential Skills to Dynamic Public Speaking
  • Conflict Styles and How to Deal with Conflict
  • Delivering Effective Customer Service
  • Developing Effective Intercultural Communication Skills
  • Communicating in a Diverse Environment
  • Capitalizing on Your Power of Persuasion
  • What Are You Really Communicating? (Nonverbal Communication)
  • How to Polish Your Professional Image
  • Life as a Speech and Debate Coach
Dr. Brenda Thomas

Assistant Professor of Education
bthomas@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6605

  • Special Education Legal Issues
  • Differentiated Instruction
  • Inclusion – Best Practices
  • Leadership 101
Shane Thrash

Assistant Director, Baptist Student Union
sthrash@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6571

  • Baptist Student Union and Missions
  • Evangelism
  • Preaching and Revivals
  • Youth Retreats and D-now weekends
Dick Vogel

Associate Director for Athletic and University Advancement
dvogel@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6762

  • Programs and Athletics at Carey
  • How to Increase Your Sales Through “Inter Active and Cross Marketing”
Dr. Jim Weir

Associate Dean, Student Affairs; Professor of Oral Health and Anatomy, College of Osteopathic Medicine
jweir@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6290

  • Review of Common Oral Lesions
  • Oral Manifestations of Systemic Diseases
  • Update of Oral Pathology
  • Interesting Cases in Oral Pathology
  • Review of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine
  • Differential Diagnosis of Neck Masses
  • Review of Commonly Encountered Oral Lesions
Dr. Janet Williams

Dean of the School of Nursing; Professor of Nursing
jwilliams@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6301 Hattiesburg Campus
228-702-1826 Tradition Campus

  • Delegation and/or Management
  • Leadership
  • The State of Nursing in Mississippi
Tracy Williams

Chair, Department of Art, Tradition Campus
twilliams@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1844

  • Eating Disorders